US Nationals 2016

Check out the CubeCast Live Stream

View Live Results

July 29-31, 2016

Columbia Conference Center
8439 NE Columbia Blvd
Portland, OR 97220

Update 7/26: You can subscribe to SMS notifications or download our Android app and we'll tell you when it's your turn to compete!  Take a look at your heat schedule for more details.

We are pleased to announce that US Nationals 2016 will be held in Portland, Oregon.

The United States National Championships dates back to 2004, and has since become the largest competition in the United States with nearly 500 competitors attending in 2014. The competition attracts the fastest American speedcubers, as well as many top international competitors, and many National and World Records are set every year.

The competition is open to all competitors of all nationalities. No experience in WCA competitions is necessary, but competitors should be familiar with the regulations. The competition is open to all competitors regardless of experience and skill with the Rubik's Cube, but certain event-based time limits will be in place as explained on the events tab.

Media personnel should contact the organizational staff regarding media opportunities and policies.

This competition is recognized as an official World Cube Association competition. Therefore, all competitors should be familiar with the WCA regulations. If you are new to competing, you may want to look at CubingUSA's Competitor Tutorial.  This competition is organized by CubingUSA.

Registration is now full, and the waiting list is closed.

No day-of registrations will be allowed.

Unofficial Events

We will be hosting several unofficial events.  See the unofficial events page for details.


Due to venue constraints, we have a 600-person competitor limit. We opened registration on February 1, 2016 and reached the limit in early March. We continued to accept competitors from the wait list upon cancellations until July 1.  

Registration reserves a spot in the competition and demonstrates an intention to attend; therefore, registration fees are not fully-refundable.  Competitors who cancelled their registration before June 15, 2016 received a 50% refund.

Although refunds are no longer available, we would still appreciate being notified if you know you can't attend, to help our scheduling.

Past Champions:

Year Name Winning Average Location Venue Competitors
2015 Drew Brads 8.33 seconds Hilton Head Island, SC Hilton Head Beach and Tennis Resort 449
2014 Collin Burns 8.32 seconds Jersey City, NJ Liberty Science Center 497
2013 Andy Smith 9.73 seconds Las Vegas, NV Riviera Hotel & Casino 580
2012 Andrew Ricci 9.55 seconds Las Vegas, NV Riviera Hotel & Casino 259
2011 Dan Cohen 10.13 seconds Columbus, OH The Ohio State University 204
2010 Rowe Hessler 10.93 seconds Cambridge, MA Massachusetts Institute of Technology 227
2009 Rowe Hessler 11.64 seconds Stanford, CA Stanford University 135
2008 Andrew Kang 12.97 seconds Atlanta, GA Underground Atlanta 104
2007 Ryan Patricio 14.92 seconds Chicago, IL Chicago Cultural Center 70
2006 Leyan Lo 15.50 seconds San Francisco, CA Exploratorium 85
2004 Jon Morris 20.06 seconds Pasadena, CA California Institute of Technology 48